Today's Tickets @ 2 Song: "Do They Know Its Christmas" by Band Aid
aretha franklin Aretha Franklin Sets Release Date For New Album Aretha: A Woman Falling Out Of Love

Photo: Jemal Countless/Getty Images

The Queen of Soul [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Aretha Franklin[/lastfm] has gotten her health in order and her career back in focus for the upcoming release of her first new album since having surgery last year. [photogallerylink id=36509 align=left]

The album Aretha: A Woman Falling Out Of Love is scheduled for a May 3rd release, and one major retail giant has the exclusive distributing rights in stores nationwide.

Aretha has just announced her fast approaching release date for her new studio album Aretha: A Woman Falling Out Of Love for May 3rd, with copies being sold exclusively as Wal-Mart stores and on For those who prefer to download digital copies of music, you’ll have to wait a full month before the album will be made available on iTunes, Amazon and other digital outlets on June 3rd.

A Woman Falling Out Of Love is Aretha’s 38th studio album and features eleven tracks including the debut single “How Long I’ve Waited,” plus a bonus track.

According to the announcement of the album, “the album, is the very first on her own label, Aretha’s Records, and is reflective of the great diversity of material and styles at which Aretha excels, offering smoldering ballads, sizzling blues-infused tracks as well as an acknowledgment of gospel roots in the duet ‘Faithful’ with Karen Clark-Sheard.”

PAGE 2 See ‘A Woman Falling Out Of Love’ track listing

Though the album announcement doesn’t mention any details of Aretha’s mystery illness she suffered last year, forcing her to cancel a series of concert dates, it does offer a piece of advice for female fans who yearn for love:

“OK ladies take a good look at the photo of me on this album; this is how you’re supposed to look when you’re a woman falling out of love. Don’t sit by the phone waiting for him to call you, girlfriend; I want you to listen very closely to the lyrics of the songs on this album and you’ll hear a few good tips. Go out and have a ball!” – Love always, Ree Ree

Aretha: A Woman Falling Out Of Love Track Listing:

1. “How Long I’ve Waited” – Written and Produced by Aretha Franklin
2. “Sweet Sixteen” – Written by Riley B. King and Joe Bihari, Produced by Aretha Franklin
3. “This You Should Know” – Written and Produced by Aretha Franklin
4. “U Can’t See Me” – Written and produced by Curtis Boone
5. “Theme From A Summer Place” – Lyrics by Mack Discant, Music by Max Steiner, Produced by Aretha Franklin.
6. “The Way We Were” – Written by Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman and Marvin Hamlisch, Produced and Arranged by Marty Paich
7. “New Day” – Written Kecalf Franklin Cunningham and Norman West, Produced by Brian Garrett and Joseph Hall
8. “Put It Back Together Again” – Written by Norman West
9. “Faithful” (featuring [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Karen Clark-Sheard[/lastfm]) – Produced by Sanchez G. Harley and Co-Produced by Jacqui Whittman
10. “His Eye Is On The Sparrow” (Performed by [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Eddie Franklin[/lastfm]) – Written by Charles H. Gabriel and Civilla H. Martin, Produced by Aretha Franklin
11. “When Two Become One” – Written by Curtis Boone
Bonus Track:
12. “My Country ‘Tis of Thee” – Lyrics by Samuel Francis Smith, Music from Thesaurus Musicus, 1744, Arrangement by Aretha Franklin and H.B. Barnum

[Source: antiMUSIC, NYT]

  1. RainbowRay says:

    Good for her on making a comeback like that! Perserverence and persistance for instance (ha!) eventually pays off! (part of RainbowRay’s 10 P’s of dreaming).


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-EARTH 101

K-EARTH Surf Pig
28 Free Things To Do in L.A.
Totally 80s Friday Night

Listen Live