The Beach Boys To Release Never Before Completed SMiLE Album Sessions This Fall

After about 45 years in the making, the original members of [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]The Beach Boys[/lastfm] Al Jardine, Mike Love, and Brian Wilson have finally collected long-lost studio sessions and recordings from their famously unfinished SMiLE project from 1966-67. [photogallerylink id=43249 align=left]

The album SMiLE Sessions, which has been referred by Rolling Stone as “the most famous unfinished album in rock & roll history,” compiles all the summer studio sessions into a long-awaited physical release that’s set for release in various packages this November!

Beach Boys fans have been clamoring for a day these shelved studio sessions from the spring of ’66 through summer of ’67 would see the light of day, and now, 45 years later, SMiLE is finally being released.

The Beach Boys recorded several songs and drafts during these sessions intended to be a follow-up to their massive hit Pet Sounds in 1966, but the master tapes were shelved and never released until now. The SMiLE Sessions takes from the master tapes to give an in-depth look at the recording sessions and will be available in many different forms.

The SMiLE Sessions’ will be available on November 1 exclusively on on 2CD lift-top box, double vinyl LP, digital album, and iTunes LP formats, as well as an expanded box set including four CDs of additional audio from the sessions, a double vinyl LP set, and two 7″ vinyl singles.

The deluxe box will also contain a 60-page hardbound book with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia from The Beach Boys’ archive and newly-written essays by Beach Boys Al Jardine, Mike Love, Brian Wilson, and Bruce Johnston, as well as by Beach Boys historian and author Domenic Priore and many other inner-circle participants.

PAGE 2 See the complete track listing of ‘SMiLE Sessions’

The SMiLE Sessions (2CD; Digital; iTunes LP)



1. Our Prayer (1:06)

2. Gee (0:51)

3. Heroes And Villains (4:53)

4. Do You Like Worms (Roll Plymouth Rock) (3:36)

5. I’m In Great Shape (0:29)

6. Barnyard (0:48)

7. My Only Sunshine (The Old Master Painter / You Are My Sunshine) (1:57)

8. Cabin Essence (3:32)

9. Wonderful (2:04)

10. Look (Song For Children) (2:31)

11. Child Is Father Of The Man (2:14)

12. Surf’s Up (4:12)

13. I Wanna Be Around / Workshop (1:23)

14. Vega-Tables (3:49)

15. Holidays (2:33)

16. Wind Chimes (3:06)

17. The Elements: Fire (Mrs. O’Leary’s Cow) (2:35)

18. Love To Say Dada (2:32)

19. Good Vibrations (4:13)

Bonus Tracks

20. You’re Welcome (1:08)

21. Heroes And Villains (Stereo Mix) (4:53)

22. Heroes And Villains Sections (Stereo Mix) (7:16)

23. Vega-Tables Demo (1:46)

24. He Gives Speeches (1:14)

25. Smile Backing Vocals Montage (8:30)

26. Surf’s Up 1967 (Solo Version) (4:09)

27. Psycodelic Sounds: Brian Falls Into A Piano (1:30)


1. Our Prayer “Dialog” (9/19/66) (3:02)

2. Heroes And Villains: Part 1 (3:08)

3. Heroes And Villains: Part 2 (4:18)

4. Heroes And Villains: Children Were Raised (1/27/67) (2:07)

5. Heroes And Villains: Prelude To Fade (2/15/67) (3:42)

6. My Only Sunshine (11/14/66) (6:52)

7. Cabin Essence (10/3/66) (5:19)

8. Surf’s Up: 1st Movement (11/4/66) (4:55)

9. Surf’s Up: Piano Demo (12/15/66) (3:53)

10. Vega-Tables: Fade (4/12/67) (5:25)

11. The Elements: Fire session (11/28/66) (8:27)

12. Cool, Cool Water (Version 2) (10/26-10/29/67) (3:32)

13. Good Vibrations Session Highlights (8:20)

Listen to one of the tracks “Wonderful” from the SMiLE Sessions:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-EARTH 101

K-EARTH Surf Pig
28 Free Things To Do in L.A.
Totally 80s Friday Night

Listen Live