When [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Paul McCartney[/lastfm] announced the title of his upcoming solo album Kisses On The Bottom, some confusion about the meaning behind the name erupted among fans pondering over the cheeky title.

But contrary to the literal meaning of the title, McCartney revealed what inspired him to name his new album of tributes to songs he grew up listening to as a child, plus the complete track listing and album artwork!

While many fans were fixated on the literal meaning of Kisses On The Bottom, Paul cleared up the confusion the name has created by revealing the real meaning of the album.

On Paul’s official website, it’s explained that Paul took the name from the lyrics of the opening song “I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter,” a hit originally sung by [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Fats Waller[/lastfm] in 1935.

In the song, the line opens with “I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you. I’m gonna write words oh so sweet. They’re gonna knock me off of my feet. A lot of kisses on the bottom, I’ll be glad I got ’em’.”

The album, which is a collection of hits that inspired Paul’s own career, plus two brand new songs “My Valentine” featuring [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Eric Clapton[/lastfm] and “Only Our Hearts” featuring [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Stevie Wonder[/lastfm], is due out on Feb. 7th.

Paul also released his new song “My Valentine” for fans to listen to. CLICK HERE to listen “My Valentine.”

Kisses On The Bottom track listing:

1. ‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’
2. ‘Home (When Shadows Fall)’
3. ‘It’s Only A Paper Moon’
4. ‘More I Cannot Wish You’
5. ‘The Glory Of Love’
6. ‘We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)’
7. ‘Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive’
8. ‘My Valentine’
9. ‘Always’
10. ‘My Very Good Friend The Milkman’
11. ‘Bye Bye Blackbird’
12. ‘Get Yourself Another Fool’
13. ‘The Inch Worm’
14. ‘Only Our Hearts’

[Source: Paul McCartney]


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-EARTH 101

K-EARTH Surf Pig
28 Free Things To Do in L.A.
Totally 80s Friday Night

Listen Live