Carol Burnett To Be Awarded Nation’s Top Humor Prize

Legendary comedienne and actress Carol Burnett will be honored by her famous peers as she’s awarded the nation’s most prestigious in comedy.

The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts is awarding Burnett the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor in a star-studded ceremony in Washington on Oct. 20th, reports CBS News.

Stars scheduled to pay tribute to Burnett and salute her amazing legacy in comedy during the ceremony include Julie Andrews, Tony Bennett, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and Maya Rudolph. Additional stars set to appear include Martin Short, Rosemary Watson, Lucie Arnaz (daughter of Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz), Tim Conway, Rashida Jones and Vicki Lawrence.

Burnett had break out success for her 1959 Broadway hit Once Upon A Mattress, in which she earned a Tony Award nomination. She quickly rose to fame during the 11-year run of her variety-style Carol Burnett Show that combined sketches, comedy, music and more.

Other entertainers awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor include Richard Pryor, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Bill Cosby, Tina Fey and last year’s honoree, Ellen DeGeneres.

The ceremony honoring Burnett will broadcast on PBS stations nationwide on Nov. 24th.

In celebration of Carol Burnett’s huge honor, watch some of her funniest moments from The Carol Burnett Show below:

More from Britt Bickel

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-EARTH 101

K-EARTH Surf Pig
28 Free Things To Do in L.A.
Totally 80s Friday Night

Listen Live