Genesis is one of the best selling bands of all time with approximately 130 million albums sold, worldwide. If you add the sales tallies of the individual members, including singer Peter Gabriel and drummer/singer Phil Collins (not to mention Mike Rutherford’s Mike + the Mechanics and, hey, let’s count Steve Hackett’s short-lived GTR and Tony Banks’ solo works), that number gets more impressive.

But the band has always kept their repertoire separate from the catalogs of the individual members — that is, until now.

Yesterday, Genesis debuted a new logo on their Facebook page, teasing some soon-to-be-announced “exciting news.” That news turned out to be a three-CD set, R-Kive, that traces the band’s history, starting with “The Knife,” from their pre-Phil Collins era, and it extends through “Calling All Stations,” the title track of their final album, released in 1997 after Collins left the band (he was replaced by singer Ray Wilson).

Related: Genesis Reunion Rumors Cooled By Former Guitarist Steve Hackett

Also included in the set is some of the band’s biggest hits, including “Follow You, Follow Me,” “Turn It On Again,” “Land of Confusion” and “I Can’t Dance,” along with three songs from each member’s individual career (Collins’ “In the Air Tonight,” Mike + the Mechanics’ “The Living Years” and Gabriel’s “Biko” all made the cut).



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From K-EARTH 101

K-EARTH Surf Pig
28 Free Things To Do in L.A.
Totally 80s Friday Night

Listen Live